Chicken and Frogs

So, guys – I’m on holiday! Whoop! And just to top it off, it’s been snowing. Just like it was on my last week off – in January. I’m less than pleased about this deluge of winter, and even more annoyed that the cold weather has given me some kind of ear nose and throat infection. Boo!

My first holiday day was yesterday. We did our boring food shop, which involved us buying a load of Easter eggs (a Mario one for me!) and visiting two supermarkets so that we could actually find everything we needed. I’m so glad we did visit two though, because I bumped into a very dear friend in the second one. I haven’t seen her properly in around 3 years and it was so good to see her, even if it was just for a minute. She’s the kind of friend that we could go 10 years and just pick up where we left off – though she did tell me her daughter is turning 16 this year, which was a bit of a shocker!

After lunch I finally got to try out my slow cooker! So exciting! I decided I was going to try out some BBQ chicken because who doesn’t like a nice sandwich of pulled BBQ chicken? I found the recipe online somewhere, I forget where, and it involves making your own sauce, an idea I really liked. I’ll put the recipe at the end of this post – I really suggest you make it. It was a fairly tomato based sauce but I’m sure you could tweak it to make it richer or spicy or whatever. It being the first time I had ever used a crock pot, over the 4 hours cooking time Gary and I could be found periodically wandering into the kitchen to stare into the pot through the glass lid and see what was happening. After the allotted 4 hours I was delighted with the condition of the meat – cooked through and tender – it just fell apart! And it was so delicious. We have so much left over we gave half to Gary’s parent’s and have loads left for sandwiches or snacks this week. I really can’t wait to try the next recipe!

During the cooking time, I did however have quite a scary experience. I was having a browse on Pinterest on my iPhone and all of a sudden lost the peripheral vision in my left eye. As that came back I started to get jagged lights down one side of my vision on the left. I was seriously freaking out – I thought I was going blind or something. So I did the only thing a girl can do in a situation like this and called my Mum! She told me she was certain I was having a migraine and that it sounded like an aura (and I have since learned, symptoms of tunnel vision) As a regular migraine sufferer I’m used to the pain, but these symptoms were very new to me. She told me to take Ibuprofen and then close my eyes and relax. So that’s what I did. About ten minutes later my left hand and wrist started getting pins and needles and going numb. Then the left side of my face started to go numb and tingle from the lip and moved down to my chin. I started to panic thinking I was having a stroke or something. Gary was ready to take me to A&E but he was telling me he thought it was an anxiety attack. So I got him to Google it, and sure enough all the results were for anxiety attacks. Totally freaky. I find it terrifying that my brain can do that to my body totally separately from my conscious awareness.

Anyway, after that episode Gary thought it might be a good idea to go for some air and a drive to get out of the house. So after our yummy dinner we firstly went to visit my parents, as we hadn’t seen them in a while. Then we visited Gary’s parents for a bit and took them some of the crock pot chicken to try.

The best part of our drives is the music we listen to. For part of the journey we listened to Katy Perry – despite my sore throat for some reason I fancied a good loud sing-a-long. Then for the rest of the trip Gary put on a band he’s just started listening to called M83. Their music is fairly 80’s sounding, electropop-ish. All the songs have an epic sound to them. I want to share this one particular song, called ‘Raconte – Moi Une Histoire’. If you only listen to one new tune this week, make it this one. It’s cute, uplifting and happy – Feel free to dance in your living room.

Ah, see that’s better isn’t it?

So today I’m just chilling out and trying to feel better so that we can start our holiday week off together tomorrow (Gary’s working today) We’re hoping to go to London tomorrow and I can see us having to wrap up warm. But it’s all part of the fun right? Stay tuned for more weird shenanigans and hopefully no more panic attacks…… eek!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

slow cooker BBQ Chicken

4 chicken breasts
2 cups ketchup
4 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp vinegar
1/2 tsp garlic powder

Mix all ingredients in slow cooker (except chicken). Add chicken, coating each piece in sauce. Cook on high for 4 hours. Remove chicken and shred with forks. Return to pot and stir in sauce to coat. Serve in toasted buns.

Enjoy!

Oh, and don’t forget you can get updates from my blog right into your Facebook feed by liking Musings of a So-Called Shutter bug here!

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Chicken and Frogs

  1. Well I know you’re probably tired of the snow but I’m still jealous that you get some! Scary experience with the aura, that’s not cool – hope that’s the last one you get!

    • Yeah I know. You always want what you haven’t got :D

      Yeah I haven’t had a migraine in over a year and this was a very odd one. I hope I don’t get another in a long time too!

  2. Pingback: Clearing My Weekend | Musings of a So-Called Shutterbug

Leave a Reply

