Oh What a Night!

If you’ve been following my blog for over a year you might remember that last June I got to see Frankie Valli play at the Royal Albert Hall. A one time event, surely? Nah, we went again last night!

Gary’s family have always been huge Frankie Valli fans and have seen him perform many times at lots of different venus. I have seen Jersey Boys about 5 times now (I think!) and I’m a big fan of his earlier music.

After having cancelled a lot of his previous UK tour dates due to illness, we were lucky enough to see the man himself perform and he really did bring the house down. The first half was a little slow for me. He sung some slower songs and some covers which are a little to croony for me – very Vegas.

Nicky and I in the interval

Nicky and I in the interval

The set list was the same as last year, so I knew that by the second half I would be right back into the swing of things. By the end the whole place was standing and singing along at the top of their voices. Nicky and Gary even ran down to the front near the end to try to get a handshake from Frankie.

Nicky (the only head you can see in the crowd) getting a handshake from Frankie

Nicky (the only head you can see in the crowd) getting a handshake from Frankie

Nicky actually managed it! The show was great and it’s made me want to see Jersey Boys again – which is incidentally being made into a movie directed by Clint Eastwood (which the whole of the RAH laughed at, I’m assuming because they don’t know Clint Eastwood directs…. it was a little embarrassing.) We listened to The Four Seasons all the way home. A great night!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

