My Next Running Challenge

I think I’ve hinted towards my next running challenge in a few of my last posts but never exclusively written about it, so here it is:

I’m running the Women’s Running 10k on the 7th September in Finsbury Park. Between my last 5k and this race day is 6 weeks. In this time I’m training training training. When I signed up for this race I’d never run further than 5k and never run that without walking breaks. I’m now slowly building up my distance and trying to slow my pace so I can do the distance comfortably. It’s easier said than done!

As soon as I confirmed my entry the first thing I did was contact Macmillan Cancer Support to let them know I wanted to run for them. During my Dad’s last visit to the hospital I felt so much support from them that I knew I wanted to give something back. They’ve been great with their support even just for my running and I know I’m going to wear my vest with pride.

f4faf07afc5f11e2b82c22000a1fbca3_7

I had a really tough running week last week, where my mind wasn’t in it and I started to worry that I was on the road to failure. But I couldn’t let myself, and with the amazing support of Gary this week we are on the up and increasing the miles. I’m being careful not to over do it, because I don’t want to aggravate my runner’s knee, but so far I’m at 4.5 miles and really feel like the 10k is in reach. I feel like I’m in control again and that my goal is achievable. Also at the end of this race they’ve promised tea and cake….. I’ll definitely run for cake.

If you feel you’d like to sponsor me and give some money to Macmillan then please go to my Just Giving page and give whatever you can afford (don’t forget to select Gift Aid if you’re a UK tax payer!). Amazingly donations make 98% of Macmillan’s income. If you do decide to donate I promise I will run hard and fast and do you proud!

In other running news, I recently read on Naturally Leah about a new kind of race called the Gloanna Yoga Run. It’s a 5k jog followed by 45 minutes of yoga and then a nice lunch. It’s aimed to bring ladies together for a relaxing stress free run, stretch and to make friends. It’s totally up my street! There’s only one left this year and I’m busy that day but they’re planning to do more next year and I’m SO up for it. I’m also planning on getting a few friends to join me! (I can feel all of my friends reading this and wondering if it’s them….. yes it’s you!)

Lastly I’d like to introduce you to a blog I’m really enjoying reading called A Healthier Moo. I originally started reading Mary’s blog when I was searching for reviews of the Milton Keynes marathon after I’d watched it this year. She lives fairly near to me and there are so few running blogs in the UK that I was really happy to find one written by someone local. She’s an inspiration and is currently training for Operation Ultra after she won one of only three places via Women’s Running magazine. It’s great reading her progress in her training (and also following her progress in planning her wedding – you know I’m a sucker for a wedding!) Plus she’s jolly nice! If you’re interested in running, weddings or teaching (she’s a teacher too!) then hop over to her blog and give it a read.
Follow on Bloglovin
(Oh and hello to all my new followers on WordPress and Bloglovin’ – don’t forget to comment and say hi!)

3 thoughts on “My Next Running Challenge

  1. Hey, thanks for the shoutout! And all the nice things said about me! :)
    Does this mean that MK Marathon is on the cards for you then?…!
    Well done on stepping it up to your next challenge and especially as you will be raising money for MacMillan Cancer Support. I’m currently brainstorming ideas for fundraising for September.
    If there was a race which promised cake at the finish, I would have no problems getting round!

      • Loads of our club ran that race last year. It’s supposed to be very good for a first half, nice and flat. I’m sure you’ll be great at your 10k! It gets very addictive now you’re racing though!!! :)

Leave a Reply

