December 23rd

Shutterbug

Today is Christmas Eve Eve.  It’s always been my favourite day of Christmas, maybe because it’s the ‘underdog’ Christmas day. It’s almost Christmas Eve but not quite so the excitement is building. There’s no tradition associated with it other than an impending sense of something amazing is about to happen.

It also happens to be my Niece’s birthday and I never get to see her because I’m always working on her birthday – usually until some ridiculous hour like 10pm. This year I get to see her and I’m super excited.

I’m going to write about Christmas Eve tomorrow – it seems appropriate – but today I want to comment on Christmas Day.

As I said Christmas Eve has its own traditions, Christmas Eve Eve is about anticipation and that last push before the holiday. Christmas Day I find is always somewhat of an anti-climax and as a result is my least favourite of all the Christmas days. What? I hear you cry. I realise this is a weird thing to say especially coming from a Christmas fanatic like myself. But hear me out. The build up to the day is so full of wonderful excitement and anticipation. The magic of Santa coming, buying the perfect gift and the secrecy that comes with it, seeing friends, parties, the food, the decorations. But once the day is there you know there’s none of that wait any more and the next day all the decorations have a slightly tarnished look about them. I like to take them down as soon as I can after the 25th and I’m eager for the new year to start.

Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE Christmas Day. Spending time with family and giving them the gifts I’ve spent so much time thinking through. I hope you see what I mean? But there is one thing I adore about Christmas; the calm that seems to spread over everything. There are fewer people on the streets and the roads, and every one has a serenity about them. You know that everyone is in their homes preparing food, laughing, singing and doing exactly the same as the family in the next house. The world seems quiet. Businesses are closed so there’s nowhere to go (except for pubs but the same things are going on inside them too!) and you have no option but to enjoy the company of those you’re with.

I’ll never forget a couple of years ago when Gary and I were making the short drive from our house to my parents. As we passed the only other car on the street I looked inside to see the driver who looked exactly like Santa. I must have exclaimed out loud and possibly pointed at the guy because he looked delighted and started laughing as he drove past. He must have know who he’d reminded me of.

I hope you know what I mean when I describe this Christmas calm I feel. I know not everyone celebrates Christmas, and not everyone celebrates with other people at this time. It’s not always happy and it’s not always successful, but surely everyone can sense the Christmas spirit on the day? And if you never have, maybe this year you will :)

Happy Christmas Eve Eve!

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “December 23rd

Leave a Reply

