The Big Chill Out

Saturday at 6.30pm began the Big Chill Out. Yes it included a 5k race on Sunday BUT that was my choice 🙂

After work on Saturday, which was my last shift at my current job, we went with some of my work colleagues to the pub over the road and got some food and drinks and had a good natter. It was really chilled and informal and relaxed. Exactly my style. Earlier in the day I’d been given and lovely card, some cookie cutters and a year’s subscription to Runner’s World magazine! They know me well 🙂

On my way home from the meal we stopped into my Mum and Dad’s house. My Dad had just come back home after his spell in hospital and it was so good to see him comfortable and relaxed in his own chair at home.

On Sunday, after our race (which you can read about in my previous blog post) we had to get home a for a bath and then we headed straight out to get some lunch. By this time it was almost 2pm and we were starving, both craving greasy food – bad news! We headed to Buddies Diner and I had sausage and mash with gravy. Perfect post run food – a massive plate of mashed potato was very welcomed! Then we had to do our week’s food shopping and we only had an hour by this time to do it before they shut! But we made it and we headed home and collapsed, both exhausted!

Monday was mostly taken up with the news that it was to be the hottest day of the year and that Kate Middleton was in hospital about to have her baby. The morning had actually been quite chilly but by 11am it was hot. Mum and I decided to have a wander around Woburn town and see what the little shops had to offer, but most of them had either shut down or were closed on Mondays. So after a little mooch we headed into Woburn Abbey. Here we had a scone and a drink and then wondered about the gardens.

photo(1)

It was so pretty and really really hot.

photo

By the time we left it was about 31 degrees. On our way out we followed some amazing deer.

deer

Later in the day they announced that Kate had had a little boy – I was sure it would be a girl! We’re waiting to see them today and hear what the baby is called, but I have my money on Alexander (Alex).  We had some amazing rain for all of 2 minutes last night and so far we’ve had a little thunder and lightning and rain. It’s still humid so I’m hoping for more!

Just before I sign off I want to mention some cakes I made last week, Cinnamon Rolls, using a recipe from Pinterest.

cinnamon rolls

This was the first time I’ve made them and they were totes amazeballs. You must try them!

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “The Big Chill Out

  1. Cookie cutters and a running mag subscription are both great gifts! 🙂 There’s a buddies by us and I always have to prepare myself before eating there otherwise I can’t complete the meal!
    Those cinnamon rolls look great! Whenever I make items from Pinterest they never come out that well!!!

    1. Well I’m usually wary about Pinterest recipes especially when you have to convert from US measurements. So I was careful to follow this recipe loosely!

      Buddies is amazing. So pleased they’ve opened on nearer to my house now…. Or maybe that’s a bad thing! Their filter coffee is AMAZING!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.