Food Challenge Recipe 35: Chocolate Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Treats

For a good while the recipes I’ve been making have been savoury meals, and Gary really wanted something a little bit naughty and sweet. He chose these peanut butter rice crispy squares, which looked quite simple, and can also be made vegan depending on what type of chocolate you put on the top. I’m not a fan of peanut butter, so I knew these wouldn’t be my ideal snack, but marriage is all about compromise 😀

LRG_DSC01728

There are only 4 ingredients in this, and you might find you already have these in the cupboard, so who knows, you could be eating some of these this evening!

LRG_DSC01730

You start off by measuring the rice crispies in a bowl – you need 105g.

Then line a square baking tin (or rectangle since that’s all I had) with parchment paper.

Add some golden syrup (80ml) and peanut butter (83g) to a saucepan and heat them together, stirring all the time until it just starts to bubble a little.

LRG_DSC01729

Once it’s melted together, it’ll be smooth.

LRG_DSC01734

I then poured this over the rice crispies and mixed it up until each of the crispies have been coated.

LRG_DSC01736

This was then pressed into the tray and the tray popped into the fridge to set.

When this had set, I melted 300g of chocolate in the microwave. I heated it in 30 seconds increments, stirring in the middle, until it was all melted.

I then poured the lot over the top of the crispies, smoothed it out, and then returned it to the fridge to set.

LRG_DSC01737

Once this was set it was time to remove it from the tin, which was really easy by simply pulling the baking paper up and out. And then I sliced the lot into 20 squares.

LRG_DSC01739

LRG_DSC01741

The squares were light and chewy, and a little crumbly (mainly because I’d not pressed the crispies down enough!).

LRG_DSC01740

The verdict:

Personally these weren’t for me, but if you like peanut butter, I’m told these are delicious! They were so simple to make, I’m sure I’ll be making these again!

I give this recipe 9/10

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.