Food Challenge Recipe 36: Baked Orange Cauliflower

When you read this I’ll be on holiday in Orlando, so I thought this week’s recipe should be reflective of this.

Here in good ole Blighty when we think of Chinese takeaway, we think Sweet & Sour Chicken. But in the US I’ve never seen Sweet & Sour Chicken. It seems their equivalent is Orange Chicken, which is so very similar but with a sweet citrusy edge.

Since we’re trying to eat a little less meat, at home, I saw this recipe and knew I wanted to try it out! This recipe serves two people and was super quick and easy to make.

I started off with a small cauliflower which I cut into bite sized florets.

LRG_DSC01751

I put the oven on to 180c (fan), and whisked two large eggs in a small bowl. Then I put 1/2 cup of panko breadcrumbs into a Ziplock bag. The recipe states to use up to 2 cups of breadcrumbs, but I found I only needed 1/2 a cup – I think my cauliflower was tiny!

I dipped each floret into the egg, gave it a shake and place it onto a plate for the excess to run off.

LRG_DSC01756

I then tossed each individual floret in the panko and placed onto a prepared baking sheet.

LRG_DSC01760

These were put to bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

For the sauce I put the following into a small saucepan:

  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp orange juice
  • 1/4 cup granulated white sugar
  • 2.5 tbsp vinegar
  • 1/8 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 clove of minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp minced ginger
  • 1/2 tsp Sriracha
  • 1.5 tsp ketchup

LRG_DSC01764

I brought this to the boil, stirring constantly.

LRG_DSC01765

In a separate bowl I mixed 1 tbsp of water with 2 tsp of cornflower and then added this to the pan.

LRG_DSC01766

This was stirred up until the sauce thickened.

At this point the cauliflower was ready!

LRG_DSC01770

And the sauce was drizzled over top.

LRG_DSC01773

I served this with steamed basmati and green beans.

LRG_DSC01772

The cauliflower was cooked through, but still had a little bite to it. The breadcrumbs added some lovely texture. The sauce was delicious. I could taste each of the ingredients, and though it was very sweet, it was really close to the flavour of orange chicken I’ve tasted when I’ve been in America. There was a little heat from the Sriracha, which help cut through the sweetness.

LRG_DSC01771

The verdict: I really enjoyed eating this. I actually wished I had more when I’d finished! I’ll definitely be making this again, as it was so delicious and so simple to make!

I give this recipe 10/10!

 

2 thoughts on “Food Challenge Recipe 36: Baked Orange Cauliflower

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.